Adding Some Curves

IMG_1333

 

When we moved into our house there was a heavily cemented rock wall on a flower bed that ran most of the length of our yard. It was long and incredibly straight. In short, I loved the idea of having the flowerbed there, but I really didn’t like the look of it.  With a small sledge hammer I took out the existing wall and knocked the cement from the rocks so I could reuse them.

 

IMG_1330

Then I started adding some curve, marking the lawn with my shove before digging in. I sank some lawn edging where I wanted my rock wall and some heavy landscape fabric over that to keep anything from trying to grow…at least for the next ten to twenty years.

Then it snowed… Yay for spring in Alberta!!!

IMG_1362

After the snow finally melted, I was able to add a few new plants, including a red climbing rose and some herbs. 🙂 I paid $20 for a tree removal company to drop four square yards of mulch in my driveway, which I have been putting between all my plants– I’m a huge fan of less weeding/low maintenance beauty!

IMG_1415

 

Wait for it…

IMG_1477

 

 

IMG_1479

 

IMG_1482

It’s still a work in progress, but after I figure out my color patters for each month (June was completely purple, so I should probably add something more), and give my roses another year to grow…I’ll have to come up with something else to do with my time.

Leave a Reply

